Want your own Owl? Here’s how!

I came across a web page entitled “Owl bar is London’s latest ‘just one thing’ hip bar”, which has a picture of a dear little owl on somebody’s shoulder. It really looked so cute, I wanted a copy of the picture myself, but when I did the customary right-click to start the copy sequence, I had a surprise:-

The picture was suddenly enclosed in a ‘light-box’. Its a relatively new device that enables you to sequence through all the pictures on a web page in turn, without being distracted by text.

In this case, however, there was a problem. Although there was a total of 6 pictures of different owls on the page, somebody had screwed up. Only one picture was available in the light-box – and that was the one I wanted.

Well, I didn’t want a copy of a light-box, just the owl; so I did what I usually do under such circumstances – look behind the scenes.

Although I use Opera, other browsers will have the same facility. “Ctrl – U” (View Source) takes you to a new page where you can see the source code that your browser is rendering for you.

Now we use the browser’s “Find” facility in this page to look for pictures. Its simple enough; you just put the extension for a picture into the search facility – that would be ‘jpg’, ‘gif’ or ‘png’ usually. In this particular page, the ‘Find’ facility indicated that there were 72 occurrences of ‘jpg’. I was lucky, I only had to step through to the third to find what I wanted:- the url of my chosen owl picture!

When you paste this url into a new tab in your browser, you can download the picture alone – no web page, no light-box – nothing. Then your usual right-click procedure will let you save the picture.

Here is the result:-
owl

I think there is something magic about owls, you might even say wizard?

Whatever, they really are a hoot!

Leave a Reply

