Weeding out the Sneaks!

It is part and parcel of the blogging game; the people who want to make money on the Internet look for ways of increasing the links to their site, and thus improving their traffic.

One of the ways they do this is to make comments on your blog, and hope that the link they provided will be left in the comment.

With me, that won’t wash!

I check all the links given, and if there is a hint of something commercial, out it goes!

I look at the comment itself as well. Mostly it is the usual SEO rubbish, but occasionally there is something that seems perfectly innocuous, such as the following:-

“Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your blog? My website is in the very same niche as yours and my users would really benefit from a lot of the information you provide here. Please let me know if this alright with you. Cheers!”

The first question was not really necessary. It has long been accepted practice to quote other sources, as long as the origin is given. It was, however, polite.

The website referred to however, has nothing to do with my ‘niche’. In fact, I don’t know of any niche that my site would fit into – the coverage is far too broad.

A quick look revealed that it was all gaming apps for mobile phones, and it had to go!

However, and I always do this final check, I do give the person a chance to justify themselves by sending an email to the address provided.

As expected, no deal! The address was fake, and the email could not be delivered.

So, scarlettshook@gmail.com, better luck next time,
but elsewhere please.

You have been rumbled!

One thought on “Weeding out the Sneaks!”

  1. Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it’s really informative.
    I’m going to watch out for brussels. I will be grateful if you continue this in future.
    Many people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

