Studying the WordPress Stats.

This morning I thought I would take a closer look at the statistics for my site. There has been a spate of spam comments originating from strange sources that cannot be tracked down, and with false email addresses.

The curious thing about them is that they are attached to posts that do not appear to have been accessed according to the statistics.

If that is the case, how are they getting in, and why aren’t they being recorded as visits to the post in question?

    Is this a problem with the way the statistics are generated?
    Is this the result of someone hacking into the WordPress system?
    Is there another cause that I have not been able to determine yet?

I will be investigating this as far as I can, but my possibilities are limited – I am not a hacker.

However, I would appreciate some feedback it anyone else is seeing similar problems. And I would ask WordPress to look into it to see if they can help.

Lets see if we can crack this thing!

Leave a Reply

