Prompts, Drafts, and Memory Joggers.

This post started life as something completely different. It was originally entitled –
I don’t do Drafts, perhaps I should!“, which was a short post in response to an exercise in the Blogging 101 Challenge, but which never saw the light of day on the Internet. I had it stored in my off-line system only. I will include it here as it is still relevant.

* * * * *
Day 25 already? Where did the time go?

A draft always smacks of failure to me for some unknown reason. Perhaps I’m totally off-beam with this, but thats just how it feels.

A draft requires an investment of thought and energy, which would be lost if the draft were to be scrapped.

I don’t go in for prompts either; instead, I use browser tabs.

This has certain advantages. It is very easy to review your tab content, and see which subject you want to tackle next. Or, you may decide after a few days that you don’t like that subject after all, or can’t find enough research material to back up what you want to say, and simply close the tab – gone!

There is, of course, a downside!

Whenever I open the browser, I have anywhere from 15 to 20 pages to load up, which consumes a fair amount of time and bandwidth. To counter this, I leave the browser open all the time, which is fine, until it decides it wants to crash – in which case everything has to be reloaded again.

Perhaps a couple of drafts would be a useful compromise.
* * * * *
Prompts
But then I got to thinking. I have other ways of storing temporary material which may, or may not, eventually bloom into fruition.

My prompts are usually the title for a new post, so I start them off in their own file, and park the file on the desktop ready for me to start work on them.

You could, however, do it differently if you are working to a schedule. You could title each file with “Day1”, “Day2”, etc., and in each you would have the subject to be addressed.

If you are working on a series, a single file could hold all the titles for all articles in the series as memory-joggers, and the one file be titled “MY SHINY NEW SERIES”, for example.

More often than not, reference material is needed as well, so I open a new folder and save all the relevant web pages into it. Then I can quickly pull them back into my browser when I need them again.

However:-

A lot of caution is needed with links if you are going to use this method and want to link to the relevant page in your post.

For example, in the “Food” folder that you see in the picture above, I have a page filed that I want to view. I double-click on the name, and the page is automatically displayed in my browser. But the link is now “file://localhost/C:/Users/John/Desktop/Food/What%20is%20Food%20Security_%20__%20The%20Food%20Security%20Network%20of%20Newfoundland%20and%20Labrador.mht”, which is only available in my computer.

I can’t use that link in a post.

I need to find its original location.

To find out where this page was originally stored is actually simple enough.

Press “Ctrl” + “U” while viewing the page, and a new page will (should) be displayed in your browser, but this time it will be displayed as a text file, not an html. The second line of this text file is:-

“Content-Location: http://www.foodsecuritynews.com/What-is-food-security.htm”

In your post, be sure to use the link to the original location, and not the one to your own computer!

Note 1:- The info for original location on the web used to be at the end of the document, but they now seem to have standardized on Line 2, which is much simpler and quicker.

Note 2:- If your browser does not give you a new page with the website displayed as a text file when you press “Ctrl” + “U”, you might consider getting a browser that will.

With all the possibilities I mentioned above, and no doubt, a few of your own invention, you may feel as I that drafts are not really necessary. On the other hand, you may be the “Original Drafts Devotee”, and swear by them till your dying day!

Whatever Turns You On – Use It!

Leave a Reply

