The Importance of Search Engine Optimisation (SEO)

SEO is a matter I have virtually ignored up till now. I would occasionally get a comment making the suggestion that I should do this, or I should do that to improve my ranking on Google, but I wasn’t concerned about it at all. Why? Whenever I made a new post, I would look for it on Google, and it was always there – third, fourth or fifth on the first page.

Admitted, I knew what to look for, ie. what to key into the search enquiry, and if the title alone was not sufficient, the addition of ‘symphony’ or ‘wordpress’ was enough to do the job.
I was, of course, completely forgetting that nobody else knew what to look for, and it would only be found by other people if it was in a prominent position for other reasons than knowing the right question to ask.

Then one day recently I got a friendly comment containing a long list of “Why don’t You’s?”. In fact, I found the list rather impressive – the guy seemed to know what he was talking about! Nevertheless, I was still not convinced. After my very next post, I went staight to Google, and did a search for it, as usual.

Can you guess the result? Right – it wasn’t there!

Well, maybe it was there somewhere, but it was certainly not on the first page. And who, in their right mind wants to wade through a bucketful of results from Google unless they have no other choice? Not !, for one!

I reread the comment, paying much more attention to detail than before;-

    How much of this did I know about already?
    How much was completely new for me?
    How much of this would be possible in a free WordPress blog?

The answers were not encouraging.

So, I started looking for information, (using Google – of course), and then hit upon the most useful idea I had had for a while – I contacted the person who had sent me the comment.

Why do I need Search Engine Optimisation now, after so long without it?

That is down to changes in the methods Google uses to rank its pages. There have been at least two major updates recently, and more can be expected as they refine their system.

The results have been catastrophic for many people who rely in the Internet for their income, unless they were savvy enough to get their SEO right in the first place. Even if you don’t rely on the Internet for income, the fact that you post at all means that you don’t want to “hide your light under a bushel” – no, you want people to read them, as do I.

Search Engine Optimisation? Go on – bite the bullet – you know you must!

One thought on “The Importance of Search Engine Optimisation (SEO)”

  1. Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you penning this post and also the rest of the website is also
    really good.

Leave a Reply

