Google Ratings

One of the more frequent items that turn up in the comments is a recommendation to “improve your search engine ratings”, which I find rather funny, as I have no use for such things at all. Consequently, such comments get labelled as “Spam”, and duly find their way to the waste bin.

Its not that I am not concerned about ratings at all – far from it!

One day, when I had some time to spare, out of idle curiosity I searched for one of my own posts using Google. I had only just written it and posted it on the blog, and was very surprised to see that Google already had it indexed and available – but somewhere down on Page three. I had to hunt for it, which was a bit disappointing.

I decided to experiment a bit, to see if I could make it appear higher in the list, and found that it certainly is possible to do this. With a bit of further refinement, I was even able to get top rating – ie. No 1, on Page 1, and I have never looked back!

How is this possible?

Simple – ask the right question!

This is the entry for the last post, for example:-

Well I’ll be Fracked! « Symphony
trythisoneforsize.wordpress.com/2012/04/18/well-ill-be-fracked/
6 minutes ago – Well I’ll be Fracked! Filed under: Energy — trythisoneforsize @ 5:23 pm. Many of you may have seen the “Gasland” documentary, which seeks …

and this was No 1 out of 5,470,000 results, and it took 0.13 seconds.

And what was the search term that I entered into Google?

“well i’ll be fracked symphony”

You may ask why Google found a list of 5,470,00 possible matches, when there was only 1 item that was correct. This is because of the way the search engine works. It searches not only for the full combination of data entered, but also for subsets of it, down to individual words. But as you can see, it is highly advisable to get your answer close to the top of the list, as the number of pages for such a response would be enormous!

It is true that the author can make things easier for his viewers by doing certain things with the original product, but the viewers can certainly help themselves by refining their personal search technique.

Have a go yourself. You might be very pleasantly surprised.

For this post, I am down to number three on the first page, but this is in competition with Lotus, a company which has been around for years, produces a program called Symphony, and occupies the first two slots. I am very happy with that result!

One thought on “Google Ratings”

  1. I have learn a few just right stuff here. Definitely worth bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how so much attempt you put to create such a excellent informative web site.

Comments are closed.